#Net2 Organizer Update: What's Happening with NetSquared this Fall?

elijah's picture

NetSquared September 2016

Every quarter I send out an update with the latest news for organizers. I'll keep it short. Here are the four highlights:

Monthly Plan and Theme Months

I've outlined my work plan for the next year with a focus on suggested event topics and community input. Check it out here.

If you're looking for topic ideas I recommend Google AdWords for Nonprofits. Here are three possibilities:

  1. EASY: Screen a webinar recording
  2. MEDIUM: Host a one hour presentation with a local AdWords expert (they're easy to find!)
  3. HARD: Organize a hands-on workshop where coaches guide nonprofits on the creation of their first ad campaign

If you're in any of the 48 countries with the Google for Nonprofits program this topic is a winner.

Office Hours: Easy Event Ideas and Using Twitter to Promote Your Events

We'll be holding two office hours this September.

GOOGLE HANGOUT: Three easy event ideas (that don’t require you to find a local expert)
When: Thursday, September 8, 9:30 AM PT/12:30 PM ET
RSVP: https://plus.google.com/events/c5cm2h463nhvurcka7eue8lql9o / RSVP on Facebook

TWITTER CHAT: How to use Twitter to engage your NetSquared members and promote your events
When: Wednesday, September 14 at 5:00 PM PT/8:00 PM ET
RSVP: https://www.facebook.com/events/210212442673945/

This twitter chat is hosted by Net2DC's Heather Ratcliff using the hashtag #Net2Chat

Tech Training 101 Live Event

TechSoup recently launched our first free online course, Tech Training 101. The lesson gives you access to short how-tos, microlearning videos, online resources, live events featuring training experts, training plan samples, and more. I encourage you to check it out, especially because it launched with the support of NetSquared Ambassador Birgit Pauli-Haack and the testing of several organizers.

To learn more about TechSoup's Online Training (which is the perfect compliment to our local events) please join Birgit at the launch webinar.

When: Thursday, September 15, 11:00 AM PT/ 2:00 PM ET
More Info: http://forums.techsoup.org/cs/community/b/tsblog/archive/2016/08/30/tech-training-tips-from-the-experts-free-live-event.aspx

Final Two Items

  1. I'll be sending the annual NetSquared Participant Survey to all meetup.com members in October. I'll share send dates and the draft survey soon!
  2. I've published the monthly roundup of upcoming events for September. If you announced your event **after I wrote the blog post I'll be sure to include you in the mid-month update.

Please share the roundup on Facebook and Twitter. It's one of the best ways to recruit new organizers. :-)

I'm a #Net2 organizer. Every month my #Tech4Good network holds free nonprofit tech workshops in 70 cities. Join us! http://www.netsquared.org/blog/nonprofit-tech-events-roundup-september